THE HOBBIT: THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES 7.0/10

Standard

7.0/10

We finally made it. “The Hobbit” 3, the last one. To let you know where I’m coming from, here’s my Tolkien backstory. I read “The Hobbit” as a kid. It was a HUGE hardcover with great color illustrations. I have warm fuzzy memories of that reading experience, but remember few details. Of the “Lord of the Rings” movies, I think I saw two out of three. I remember liking part 1, but I don’t think I was watching many movies in those days, so I didn’t manage to keep up with the trilogy. I belong to the camp of people who think that the “Hobbit” story would be most entertaining as a single movie, rather than three. If you were interested enough in this trilogy to spend hours on parts 1 and 2, then you’ll likely want to finish off the story. I wouldn’t recommend watching 3 without seeing 1 & 2. If you’re on the fence about committing to “The Hobbit”, stream the first 60 minutes of part 1 and call that a taste test. These movies are full of CGI and battle, often with our heroes prevailing over throngs of apparently intimidating enemies, giving many scenes a video game flavor. The acting is often solid and the New Zealand landscapes often stunning.  Someone is bound to make an abridged fan edit of the three movies. That could be a good thing.

by Jonathan of ForeignFilmcast.com

temp hobbit

Leave a Reply

